Packing Preparations

Any traveler will know working out what to pack and how to pack it can take as much time as deciding where to go and how to get there. There’s almost too much information out there, and so many opinions on how to get it right. Unfortunately, a lot of the advice is only useful if you’re heading to one destination to do a certain type of activity. But what if you’re going everywhere, and for a really long time, too? 

The first decision to make was how much we are willing to carry. I began on Her Packing List reading reviews of different bags, when I began to notice everyone said they carry more than they probably need to, and would cut down for the next trip. I’ve been guilty over packing every time I’ve jumped on a plane. I noticed those who carried about 40 litres seemed the happiest with their bags, and felt they had ample room to fit everything they needed for their journeys of various lengths. I read lots of opinions on how to cut down, including the classics: “lay out everything you want to take then cut it by half”, and “buy the bag you want then only pack what you can fit”. It seemed like either of these options would cause something important to be left behind, and were a compromise for a smarter solution.

I then began to think there had to be a way to travel carry-on only. Under 7 kilograms (15 pounds). Imagine never having to worry about where your bag is, or never having to carry something so heavy you’d begin to loathe it? Even better, imagine never having to struggle with the weight of your bag! What if instead of cutting down, you only started with the essentials? I did a quick Google and came across OneBag. There it was, an extensive exploration into packing your life into one bag and taking it everywhere. You would never have to put it under a plane, or atop a bus, and therefore never worry about whether it would be there at the other end (among other countless benefits). It seemed perfect for me. I decided this was the only way. I’m not the only one – taking one carry on only bag is a travel revolution growing fast, and is featured on countless travel blogs and websites, such as Travel Independent.

One benefit for me worth mentioning is the essence of simplicity. Yes, it’s great to not have to count 150 possessions back into a bag bigger than you are. But more than that, carrying a simple load of only the objects you need creates a mindset of living a more simple existence where the things around you become so much more important than the things you carry. This includes the people. I’d hate to imagine a trip such as this might be able to be ruined by a focus on stuff rather than the people and the places. Not only will this help me focus on what’s important, I’ll save money doing so.

Finding the right bag for this purpose became crucial – there is no compromise when you only have one bag containing your entire worldly possessions. There’s no room for spare anything, so it needs to be neat, secure, sturdy, and look good too. I did a fair bit of reading, and tried on every bag I thought might work. Finding carry on size bags with important features like a proper hip belt is not easy, especially in Australia where brand availability is limited.

wpid-20141231_184820.jpgIn the end I chose an Exped Backcountry 35. Yes, 35 litres. That’s it. Exped are a Swiss company who design their products for mountaineers who spend their weekends scaling the Alps. We knew this bag would suit all my sturdy criteria, as well as looking neat (read: inconspicuous). They are also ridiculously light weight, waterproof, and have a fully zip-opening front so I can access all our gear easily.

Preparations for what is going inside the bag are progressing steadily. Once complete, I’ll upload a packing list to help others like me. I could not have done this without the advice of my internet travel mentors.

UPDATE! Packing list now available!

One thought on “Packing Preparations

  1. Pingback: My packing list is complete… | women of the world

Leave a comment