Week Eleven Wrap Up

20150819185210

This weeks wrap signals a couple of big milestones for me – both the end of my few short weeks in Alaska and the end of my few short months in the United States. As I write this from Mexico City I feel slightly strange that eleven weeks could have passed in such a blur, but when I really stop to reflect on how much I have achieved in that time I realise it has actually been pretty incredible. 

The week began on somewhat of a high note compared to how the previous week ended. After three days of nonstop rain, grey skies, cold nights and little activity in the last few days of the last week, I awoke on Tuesday morning to mostly sunshine. Humans are not supposed to live in the dark and the change in my mood as a result of a little sunshine was remarkable. I spent the day walking the green-trimmed trails available along the Portage Access Road, where there is a cluster of glaciers visible with very little walking and streams full of spawning salmon, not to mention the mountains in every corner.

20150819185051

20150819185056

Not a bad lunch spot

Not a bad lunch spot

20150819185216

The next day I travelled through the tunnel to Whitter to hike the Portage Pass, which from the top provides views of both the Portage Glacier and into Prince William Sound beyond Whittier itself. All I really need to do to explain this hike is the next couple of photos. I feel this is the right time to mention that not a single one of my photos at any point in this blog have been digitally altered. So yes, it really is that blue, green, and stunning. After marvelling at the view and glorious weather I was lucky enough to get that day, I drove into Whittier to have some ice cream before heading back to Anchorage. Whitter is an adorable little town but beyond the cruise ships and fishing tours heading into the sound there is little else going on. It’s a place to enjoy the nature available at its doorstep.

20150819185339

20150819185300

20150819185402

IMG_20150819_135431469

IMG_20150819_140353085

The Chugach Mountains, I had decided by that point, are my favorite I’ve visited to date. While they don’t have the elevation or sheer magnitude of the Alaska range, they do host a huge number of glaciers. The best part is that since they are all much lower, you can hike all over them with little trouble. Rather than being permanently capped in snow the tops are often visible, so there is contrast between white snow, blue ice, grey rock and green forest to give the views endless appeal.

20150819185054

By the time I arrived in Anchorage on Wednesday evening I’d had enough of alone time and was keen for a little conversation, which I found at my hostel. It’s continually amazing the range of people you meet on the road, and sometimes how easily a connection is made with someone that if not for travel, would never have been a part of your life. Wednesday evening and Thursday were spent just soaking up the relaxing atmosphere of Anchorage, chatting to new friends and planning for the next leg of my trip. The people really can make a place, and I love learning new things from them and discussing everyone’s different perspectives on the world.

I was sad to leave Alaska. It’s a corner of the planet where the view is timelessly beautiful, and one you never really get sick of. It’s an easy place to be, admittedly easier on the sunny days than the rainy ones, but one in which I could easily pass a whole summer. I can only hope that the photos attest to that and help me hold on to the memory of how it felt to be in that special place.

20150826125202

The next four days of my week were spent in Memphis, home of my friend Kate. The weekend was her daughter’s first birthday and a chance to regroup before heading South. The familiarity of friends once again was a welcome feeling and I enjoyed being able to be in a family environment for a few days. It was all fairly low key, but did provide ever-needed rest and a chance to regroup. Plus, of course, some of the delicious Memphis BBQ, which I still believe is the best in the US. Memphis has the infamous Beale Street, but also some really cool apartment buildings and offices converted from old warhouses or factories, all situated in the downtown area. It’s a fairly attractive place to stroll, with none of the busyness of many other cities.

20150826125151

20150826125101

Next stop Mexico, what I’m sure will be a complete change of pace and come with a whole new set of challenges and rewards.

Leave a comment